Skip to content

Musings 16, Ziggy

October 5, 2017

The cartoon character, Ziggy, often has words of wisdom to provoke thought. Drawn by writer Tom Wilson, this egg shaped character ponders over a stack of books. “Ah-ha,” he breathes, “The search for knowledge is never-ending. For, the more I learn, the more I know: the more I know, the more I learn how little I actually know.”

That’s a heap of learning. In that paper I learned a study of fruit flies may produce a cure for insomnia, and a medical alert system will give me peace of mind, but probably won’t cure insomnia… I wonder as I wander through the news of the day.

How do we know what we should learn? One of the problems that a teacher has is to convince her students that what she is teaching is valuable to learn. We are short-sighted. I remember trying to teach grammar. When I discovered I could call it a “construction tool” and we could use it to build sentences, grammar became a game and became more “teachable.”

What we know today may be obsolete tomorrow, for each generation adds more to our store of knowledge. Solomon said that knowledge and wisdom begin with the fear of God. I am more apt to believe loving God is more conducive to the growth and development of humanity. Love the Lord and trust his tenets as we acquire knowledge.

(Romans 11: 33) O the depth of the riches, both of wisdom and knowledge, of God. How unsearchable are his judgments, and his ways are past knowing.

(Psalm 90: 13) Teach us to realize the brevity of life, that we may grow in wisdom.

(John 1: 14) The word became flesh and lived among us. He was full of love and faithfulness.

(Matthew 5: 17) And Jesus began to preach. Repent of your sins and turn to God, for the kingdom of heaven is near. (23) Jesus traveled throughout the region of Galilee, teaching in the synagogues and announcing the Good News.

 

From → Uncategorized

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

