Skip to content

Musings 7, Waiting

August 5, 2017

Waiting is the other side of patience. (see Musings 2) “Wait for me,” my little sister shouted as I took off on my bike with my friend Barbara. Eager to escape, I did not wait.

Time and tide wait for no man, but are checked by God, who notices our imperfections, but chooses to let us determine them by ourselves. Fortunately God checks the universe, but gives us the freedom of choice, and we may be wrong as this small incident from a long ago childhood reveals.

When we want something, we want it now. We do not like to wait. I wait impatiently in the doctor’s office, in the waiting room and again in the examining room. I wait for a computer printout. “Too many patients and I have too little patience,” I murmur.

When we ask God for something, we wait. God has a perfect sense of timing, and we have little patience, so we ask him to grant our request now. Pray, trust and wait.

(Lamentations 3: 26-27) So it is good to wait quietly for salvation from the Lord, and it is good for people to submit at an early age to the yoke of his discipline.

(John 14: 27) Jesus says, “I am leaving you with a gift, peace of mind and heart. I am going to the Father, but I will come back.”  (We wait.)

(Isaiah 30: 18) For the Lord is faithful. Blessed are those who wait for his help.

 

 

From → Uncategorized

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

