Skip to content

Musings 5, Defects

July 27, 2017

While shopping, I admired a large inexpensive mug painted with roses, pink and perfect. “How great to fill it with home-grown roses and give it to a recovering friend,” I thought. After I brought it home and was about to fill it with water and white roses, I noticed a small chip on the bottom – very small, but still a defect to prevent gifting. Small imperfections are easy to overlook, and we can be blind to them.

Perhaps in this imperfect world a few defects hardly matter, but I am certain they are observable to our God who can focus clearly on a tiny sparrow. I am sure he notices my imperfections, the small sins I commit daily. I am assured God forgives and keeps me giftable. How compassionate is that? I can believe I am more than my defects.

(Romans 8: 37-39) We are more than conquerors through him who loves us. Nothing can separate us from the love of God.

(Psalm 13: 5-6) I trust God’s mercy. I will sing to the Lord, for he has dealt generously with me.

(2 Corinthians 3: 18) For we, beholding the glory of the Lord, are changed into the same image from glory to glory by the spirit of the Lord.

 

From → Uncategorized

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

