Skip to content

Musings 2, Patience

July 15, 2017

I think patience is an attribute given only to saints. I confess I am not one, and often act in haste without enough deliberation. I want patience – now! One would think, after 34 years of teaching young people, I would have developed a great quantity, but sadly, if I once had it, my patience has developed rough edges. It is good to read about the salubrious effects of patience.

Reading Ann Bronte’s novel, Agnes Grey,  reminded me of the difficulty acquiring patience and the great rewards of its acquisition. Ann Bronte was the youngest sister of Charlotte and Emily, and her books did not receive the acclaim of her two talented sisters. Ann, born in 1820, died in 1849. To ease the financial burden her presence added to her family, she became a governess. Her story reveals the burdens of leaving a loving family to reside in a home where she was not a servant and not a guest, but a necessary employee to teach and train the children.

In Ann’s story the children are beastly, and garnering patience to deal with them does not make the children better, or the governess happier. She suffers insults and obstreperous behaviors with a quiet fortitude that would inspire a saint. Do read Ann’s novel, for patience combined with diligence is rewarded, and Biblical assertions are exemplified.

True patience requires a steadfastness that cannot be observed. It is worthy to be included in our attributes.

(Psalm 37:7) Be still in the presence of the Lord, and wait patiently for him to act.

(Psalm 39:6) We are merely moving shadows, and all our busy rushing ends in nothing.

(Psalm 46:10) Be still and know that I am God. I will be honored through out the world. The Lord of Heaven’s armies is here among us.

(Micah 7:7) As for me, I look to the Lord for help. I wait confidently for God to save me. (9) I will be patient for the Lord, (17) for all nations will be amazed at what the Lord will do.

From → Uncategorized

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

