Skip to content

Building Faith, Day 27 – Fighting Fear

January 12, 2016

Psalm 27 addresses our fears. “The Lord is my light and my salvation; whom shall I fear? The Lord is the strength of my life; of whom shall I be afraid?

Psychologists tell us that all humans have fear. Even the smallest well-cared-for children show some fear. Many have a fear of falling, of being alone – small children cling to teddy bears, a rag-doll,  even Curious George or a stuffed dog. It helps them feel safe. What makes you and me feel safe? Fortunately, we know a loving God.

When I was five years old, my father died. I was told he had gone to heaven, and God was taking care of him there. I resented God, for I wanted my father back. Now I can believe my mother faced a terrible fear, being alone with two little girls to bring up. She never mentioned being afraid. How could she? We had faced a terrible loss, and talking about it would only make it more real and devastating. She took us to church, and there we found a community.

It takes courage to face your fears, whether we talk about them or not, but with God beside us we can face our fears and do what we need to do anyway. We have a God who understands, who tells us to wait patiently, be brave and have courage. Look for his goodness here and now in the land of the living and loving. “He shall strengthen thine heart. Wait upon the Lord.”

From → Uncategorized

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

