Skip to content

Building Faith, 23 – Reliance

January 3, 2016

On whom can I rely? Whom can I trust? In whom can I confide? I have been blessed with family and friends, but often I do not want to worry them with what I have observed, have felt, or have worried about. I do not want to trouble them. Perhaps you have experienced this too. We want to be independent, to keep our troubles to ourselves and spare others our concerns. The psalmist shares his God, the ultimate listener and comforter in probably the most memorized poem of all 150, the 23rd Psalm. It bears repeating as we enter a new year, 2016.

The Lord is my shepherd, I have all that I need.

I rest in green meadows, and am led by peaceful streams.

He renews my strength and leads me along right paths, bringing honor to his name.

Even when I walk through dark valleys, I need not be afraid, for God is close beside me, comforting and protecting me with his rod and staff.

He prepares a feast for me in the presence of my enemies, and anoints my head with oil.

My cup overflows with blessings.

Surely goodness and mercy will follow me all the days of my life, and I will dwell in the house of the lord forever.

Thus, I can rely on the Lord. There is reason to be hopeful and cheerful as we enter a new year.

From → Uncategorized

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

