Skip to content

Listening to Jesus, Day 10 – What Works?

August 18, 2015

How hard must I work to gain God’s approval? Actually I do not have to perform well to receive God’s love. How weird is that? God doesn’t need me to be perfect, and I’m not. Wow! That is an amazing relief. When I think of the things I cannot do at all, or cannot do very well, I could become depressed. My daughter is a math whiz – gee, she didn’t get that from me. Son-in-law is a chemical engineer, and I barely passed biology in high school and nearly flunked physics in college. I suppose nearly everyone is superior to me in something. They are all capable of doing things I cannot do, or work at a level I cannot attain.

So what works for me? I can shift from performance to appearance, and enjoy God’s unconditional love. I merely have to be present, to show up, wherever God directs me.  He supplies the power that I need in any circumstance. I show up, trust Him, and thank Him. It works for me. How great is that?

(Ephesians 2:8-9) By grace you are saved, not by works, lest any man should boast.

(Ephesians 3: 16-19) May Christ be ground in your heart, so you will know the length and depth of God’s love.

(Psalm 62:8) Trust in God, and pour your hear in him. God is our refuge.

From → Uncategorized

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

