Skip to content

Listening to Jesus, Day 8 – Authenticity

August 13, 2015

Check, check, and double check. Is it real, is it authentic? Does it work for me? I need to know; but how? It is impossible to recognize authenticity or even to be authentic to ourselves without God. My knowledge is limited and my responses are often automatic, without due consideration. When my daughter was a toddler, she wandered over to an elderly woman on a bus, and began babbling innocently, not in any words one could understand. The woman said clearly,  “You don’t know nothing.” Our child took it seriously and surprised, she crept away, perhaps to ponder that in her own way.

It is possible that I know nothing, for as I grow older, I realize my beliefs have changed, and what I thought was true yesterday is obviously untrue today. One thing has not changed is God who is the same yesterday, today, and tomorrow. His love is authentic, and his commandments endure. God knows and can do all, omniscient and omnipotent, I can lean on him and not on those surrounding me. Even small children can understand a certainty. How great is the Lord.

(Philippians 4: 6-7) The Lord is the avenger. He calls us into holiness.

(Ephesians 5:18-20) Be ye filled with the spirit. Sing to the Lord. Give thanks to the Lord.

From → Uncategorized

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

