Skip to content

Following Jesus, Day 14 – “Green Pastures”

May 22, 2015

(Psalm 23: 2) He maketh me to lie down in green pastures.

This electronic age keeps me wired and intense. I am woefully un-electronic, without tweets and twitter, texts, facebook, i-pads or e-books. Even without the major accouterments of the age, I live in a perpetual jet-stream of activity.

A few days ago I visited a wildlife sanctuary, complete with flora and fauna typical of this area, and I was reminded of the song, In The Garden.  “He walks with me and He talks with me, and He tells me I am his own, and the joy we share as we tarry there, none other has ever known.” Buckwheat and sage, turtles and hummingbirds. All of God’s gardens are restful. It was good to be in a wildlife sanctuary. Resting in the green pastures of life center me to lead a more productive life.

(Luke 1: 79-80) The prophet, John the Baptist, was summoned by God to proclaim the coming of Jesus. He lived quietly in the wilderness until he began his ministry. Then he spoke, “Morning light from heaven is about to break upon us, to give light to those who sit in darkness and in the shadow of death, and to guide us on a path of peace.”

(Genesis 2: 2-3) The day of rest, the Sabbath is Holy. God tells us to rest and enjoy the fruits of our labor.

From → Uncategorized

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

