Skip to content

Following Jesus, Day 10 – Gracious Living

May 8, 2015

God gives us life, and when he thinks we are ready, he takes life away. What am I to do with his priceless gift? Why, live graciously, of course.

I used to think gracious living was setting the table with cloth napkins and sterling silverware. Having reached a wiser state, I realize something the younger generation reached before me. That is not gracious living. My daughter does not want cloth napkins and sterling silver. Possessions steal time.

Gracious living seems  to be doing what I can with the talents I have. Using talents wisely is urged by Jesus in the parable of the talents. When I don’t use them, I lose them. Talents were money in Jesus’ day. How strange the meaning of talent now is  — a God given ability.

H.W. Longfellow, blessed with poetic talents, continued in his Psalm of Life:

“Let us then be up and doing, with a heart for any fate.

Still achieving, still pursuing, learn to labor and to wait.

When I use my talents wisely, I am blessed with the benefits of gracious living..

(Psalm 139: 23-24) Search me O God and know my heart. Lead me along the path of everlasting life.

(1 Peter 5: 6) We must serve each other in humility. Give all your worries and care to God, for He cares about you.

(Job 1:21 Job said, “Naked came I from my mother’s womb, and naked I will be when I leave. The Lord gives me what I have and the Lord takes it away. Blessed be the name of the Lord.”

From → Uncategorized

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

