Skip to content

Following Jesus, Day 2 – “Jumping in the Deep Water”

April 15, 2015

Longfellow wrote, “Life is real, life is earnest, and the grave is not its goal. Dust thou art, to dust returneth was not written of the soul. The Bible is soul food.

I was born, and that is God’s greatest gift. Mother had 2 miscarriage before that. I have a little sister, so I know God is generous with his gifts. After being given a daughter and 2 grandsons, I am sure God is generous.

“God don’t make no junk” was written on a poster I used in special education classes 30 years ago. We are precious in his sight, and we need to be reminded to love God and each other. My special students were not mistakes, they each had a purpose and a talent.

Now I am certain God doesn’t make junk, but people do. Our culture encourages the making of junk. Sometimes my fellow senior-citizens and I bewail stiff joints, pains and pleurisies, forgetting we continue to have a purpose and talents, and a history that is unique. We are not junk, but we live in the deep water, and only God can rescue us.

(Psalm 139: 33-34) Search me O God and know my heart. See if there are any wicked ways in me, and lead me in the way everlasting.

(Job 1: 21) Naked came I and naked I shall return. The Lord gives, and the Lord taketh away.

(1 Peter 5: 5,6) Ye younger, submit yourselves to the elders. Yea, be subject, one to the other, and be clothed with humility. Humble yourselves under the mighty hand of God.

From → Uncategorized

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

