Skip to content

Following Jesus, 1 – My Redeemer Lives

April 7, 2015

“I know that my redeemer lives,” sing Baptists and Presbyterians.”You ask me how I know he lives?” the song continues, “He lives within my heart.”

How big is my heart? I wonder. Is my heart big enough or strong enough for Jesus to live there? Am I capable of knowing for certain that Jesus lives in this 21st century? The culture seems critical and harsh, evil and corrupt. How can Jesus live in this environment? Perhaps he exists in the songs I sing and the prayers I send to him.
I listen, repeat the words, and pray he hears them. My heart expands with song.Faith will be nourished in prayer.

The scripture says- Psalm 105: 4 Seek the Lord and His strength. Seek his face.
Luke 10: 39-42 (I like this story) Jesus visited Martha and Mary. Martha was annoyed that Mary
sat, listening to the words of Jesus instead of helping with the work entertaining him. Jesus rebuked Martha. “My dear Martha, you are worried and upset over small details. There is one thing to be concerned about.” Knowing and listening to Jesus is more important than doing the dishes. (That is a lesson I can live by.)

To be contd.

From → Uncategorized

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

