Skip to content

The Optimistic Octogenarian #1A

June 10, 2014

Why Do I Feel So Young Today?

It seems as if I have just thumbed through the dictionary to spell septuagenarian: Soon I must look up octogenarian. How quickly the years in our 70s disappear. John, my dearly beloved, reports, “Life is like a roll of toilet paper. The closer you get to the end of the roll, the more quickly it disappears.” Where does time go? Like an ocean wave leaving bits of shells on the shore and disappearing, time flows into memory.

How could the years of my youth vanish? I do not want to remember that all men are mortal, but Socrates was right, and although I am a woman, I am mortal too. Thank you Socrates for not including women in your syllogism. We women want to believe we are ageless, despite the obvious wrinkles, some stiffening of the joints, a few lapses of memory and various disabilities. I do not feel old. With only a few disqualifications, I feel rather young today.

The atomic number of gold is 79. Is age 79 the last of the “golden years”? I think life goes on, for 80 is the atomic number of mercury, and Mercury, son of Jupiter, presided over all that required skill and dexterity. Mercury was the messenger, and wore a winged cap and winged shoes. He carried a rod entwined with two serpents. What a guy! 

Where there’s life, there’s hope for me, even without winged caps and shoes. Like Mercury, but with sturdy shoes and a white cap of hair, I can still feel young. I plan to move with skill and dexterity into the mercury years.with messages 

-to be continued-

From → Uncategorized

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

