Skip to content

Twisters

May 22, 2013

I am reading the book of Job this week. Oh, how I hate to see a good man suffer! Of course I know the story ends happily, so I will read on and finish the story. Job did not see his twisted life coming, for he loved and trusted God. He took God’s laws seriously and was God’s favorite. Footnotes tell me that the book of Job may be the oldest book in the Bible, perhaps over 2,000 years old. So Job’s story was among the first to be told. That I am reminded of it today is probably a God-wink.

“Look here,” He says, and on TV I watch funnel clouds screeching down from the sky to devastate a small town, Moore, a suburb of Oklahoma City. When the cloud lifts, homes, buildings and schools are leveled. Cars, vans, trucks, roofs of houses are deposited in heaps. Men, women, children and animals are buried under the debris. This is real.  I am washed in horror. 

Then neighbors rally to find victims and help their neighbors. First responders soon appear, followed by ambulances, police, and firemen as roads are cleared. They work in the dark of night under emergency spotlights, lifting, throwing rubble to release those buried beneath. Families stand by, praying, hoping and crying.

Parents sent their children off to an elementary school  that ordinary Monday morning. The weather reported storms likely, and they knew they lived in a wide tornado belt. The belt is wide and stretches from Louisiana to the Great Lakes.Their school was leveled that day. Some of the children were dead, others injured.

I live in an earthquake zone, prone to jolts and shaking of the ground. I have felt seasick when the earth shifts buildings, jolts the land, and rumbles. I have seen pictures askew and chandeliers swaying. I know worse could happen, but mainly I close my eyes to the possibility. I live in trust.

Job is right to continue to trust God in the middle of his troubles. We cannot know the reason for disasters.Twisters of such magnitude are rare.We can only be aware that things will be set to right. He will  care for those he has taken and provide solace for those who mourn. We can give thanks to those people who come to restore chaos to order and to God who cares.

From → Uncategorized

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

