Skip to content

New York- Overture – part 2

February 13, 2013

  “Do you think you could get four tickets?” I asked.

“I’ll have to ask Kevin,” she replied.

Wow! out of the blue, can wishes come true? I wondered.

I haven’t been to New York in years, Winter is special. When my sister and I were little, mother took us there at Christmastime to see the Rockettes at Radio City Music Hall and watch a technicolor movie on a gigantic screen, I remember Macy’s and Gimbels and the Salvation Army people dressed in navy blue uniforms and shaking bells to gather money for the poor in large black pots. We were given dimes to put in the pots.  “If we were separated by the crowds,” Mother warned, “remember to meet back at the lions in front of the library.” We never lost her, but clung tenaciously to her hands. Those lions remain, symbols of motherand safety. 

“I’ve never been into Carnegie Hall,” I said.

“You know how to get there, though?” John asked.

We responded in unison, “Practice!”

 

 

From → Uncategorized

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

