Skip to content

More Father’s Day

June 18, 2012

I have a small photo of my father, taken when he was about 30. I see a high forehead, dark eyes and brown hair. I have a few memories and some stories he wrote for magazines. He died when I was five.

But I know what a good father is. I can thank my husband, John, for showing me how a father is always there for his daughter. I can hold my son-in-law, Tim, up for the greatest rewards in Fatherhood.

Tim watched his sons’ journeys from the womb to young manhood. He supported their every endeavor, from cub scouts to eagle scouts, from music lessons to lugging the band instruments to performances. Cooking lessons? Laundry lessons? Computer help? All of these and more.

My Nanny said, “The proof of the pudding is in the eating.” I guess the proof of being a good father is in the offspring.

Our dear Father in Heaven does not take away without offering more. It’s just that way with fathers.

From → Uncategorized

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

